Five Everyday Makeup Essentials

This week, I watched an interview Lucy Hale did with Byrdie Beauty; in it Lucy Hale revealed which five makeup items she can’t live without. I thought it was cool. I don’t think I have ever talked about makeup on My Blue Striped Life, but I love makeup. I like how it can make me feel total badass or super classy. So today, I’m sharing my five makeup essentials.

  1. Lightening Touch Concealer by The Body Shop in 03

My skin is very pale, so it’s hard for me to find a foundation or concealer that’s light enough to match my skin tone. The Lightening Touch concealer from The Body Shop is the most natural looking concealer I have found to date. I don’t wear foundation too often, because I like to show off my freckles, but I do always use concealer under my eyes to look alive. The only thing I don’t like about this concealer is that you can’t see how much there’s left, but other than that I love this concealer.

  1. Gimme Brow by Benefit in 3

I love big brows. Unfortunately, my brows are blond and barely visible without makeup, so I need some help in that department. A few years ago, everyone was raving about Benefit’s Gimme Brow and I wanted to try it too, but it wasn’t available in The Netherlands at the time. So, when I was in New York I bought it. Now, I am obsessed with it. I do still need to use a brow powder first, because my brows are so light, but I love the volume this gel gives my eyebrows. A powder can make your brows look very one dimensional and unnatural, but Benefit’s Gimme Brow makes them look naturally fuller, which is great.

  1. 2000 Calorie Waterproof Volume Mascara by Maxfactor in Black Brown

Not only do I have light eyebrows, I also have light eyelashes. Black mascaras tend to look unnatural on me, which is why I prefer brown mascaras. If you have ever tried looking for a brown mascara, you’ll know they are not easy to find. So, I feel like I have tried pretty much every brown mascara available at the drugstore (in The Netherlands) and this is my favorite. First, it’s waterproof and second, it doesn’t give you those spider lashes like other mascaras can do. Most of all I love the natural look (there’s a theme going on) of the 2000 Calorie Mascara by Maxfactor.

  1. Colour Crush Lipstick by The Body Shop in 320 Berry In Love

Although, I love a bold lip, you can never go wrong with a neutral color. This lipstick from The Body Shop is my go-to; it’s a little darker than a nude and it has subtle sparkles in it. I am obsessed with the Colour Crush Lipsticks in general, because they are very creamy and pigmented, so they’re easy to apply.

  1. Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil by Burt’s Bees

Burt’s Bees Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil has become my favorite lip balm ever. My lips can get really dry, so I never go anywhere without lip balm. Ever since I bought this, it’s all I have been using. I love that it has a hint of color and that it doesn’t smell super sweet. Besides that, I think it’s great that it’s 100 percent natural and not tested on animals.

That’s it. Those are my five makeup essentials. You might have noticed that I love a natural look. These products are the base for most of my makeup looks. I try to switch things up with eye shadow, eyeliner or lipstick every once in a while.

Love!

Merel

2 thoughts on “Five Everyday Makeup Essentials

Leave a Reply

