Let’s Talk About Strength

Recently, I have been hearing a lot about strength on social media; specifically, about being a strong person. So many people and fictional characters are labeled as strong, that I think the word is losing its power. It has become one of those adjectives that is used to describe a person whether it applies or not. I thought I’d dedicate a post to strength and answer a few questions related to the topic.

What does it mean to be strong?

Before we talk anymore about strength, let’s be clear about its meaning. There are two different kinds of strength: physical and emotional. When you are physically strong you can lift a car or something; you’ve got a lot of muscles. But that’s not the topic of this post, because today I want to talk about being emotionally strong.

What does that mean? Some would consider it to be always putting on a brave face. I think it also means being vulnerable. I know there are times when we don’t feel comfortable or safe and we must protect ourselves by putting on a “mask”, knowing when to take of that mask and to be vulnerable is a big part of being strong. Another aspect is being connected to yourself and allowing yourself to feel everything you’re feeling and to experience everything you might be experiencing.

Do I consider myself to be a strong person?

In some aspects, I do and in others, I don’t. I’m definitely a stronger human being than I was a few years ago, but I’m not completely there yet. I have been through a few nasty situations growing up and the only way to get through them was for me to shut out my feelings and emotions. It wasn’t until I was done with high school that I was able to try to let emotions back in. I think it’s strong to recognize that and to do something about it, but I’m still not fully in touch with my feelings, so that’s why I consider myself to be on the path to being strong. Also, I have always been myself. No matter how much shit I had to deal with, I have always been true to myself and in my heart, I know who I am. Being honest with myself about myself is what keeps me grounded.

What is my biggest strength?

This is one of those though questions you get asked in a job interview and you’ll give an answer that’ll make them like you to get the job. Right?! Well, I’m not applying for a job here, so I’m going to be honest and say that my biggest strength is my self-awareness. Like I said, I know who I am and I’m aware of my “short comings”. I know I still have a lot to learn and in some aspects, I’m still a naive little girl, but that’s okay.

It’s important to remember we all have days when we feel like we are on top of the world and days when it takes all the energy you got to get ready and get stuff done. Some days all you do is cry and eat ice cream and other days you are dancing and singing through the streets. That is strength!

Love!

Merel

Leave a Reply

