My 4 Favorite TV Series

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m obsessed with TV series. (Really, it’s kind of a problem.) A few weeks ago, I wrote down all the series I’ve watched; there’re almost 30 titles on that list and I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few. I forced myself to pick my 4 favorite shows for this post to talk about, which was not easy.

  1. Pretty Little Liars

I had to put Pretty Little Liars on the first spot, because it is my all-time favorite TV series. I’ve probably watched the entire series 4 or 5 times (I told you I had a problem). It is one of the first shows I ever watched and it’s the one that made me fall in love with TV. I’m sure most of you have seen, if not heard about PLL. Basically, it’s about four teenage girls and their missing friend who are being stalked by someone called A. Right now, they are in their final season and there’re only nine more episodes before the series’ end. On the one hand, I’m sad the series is ending, but on the other hand, I’m so ready to get some answers! By the way, my favorite characters are Aria and Emily and my favorite “ship” is Ezria.

  1. Orphan Black

Pretty Little Liars might be my favorite TV series, but I think Orphan Black is the best TV series I’ve ever watched. For those of you who’ve never heard of Orphan Black, it’s about clones; a woman named Sarah sees someone jump in front of a train who looks identical to her. Sarah takes on the woman’s identity which leads to the discovery of more clones. Tatiana Maslany, who plays Sarah and the other clones, has played around 15 different characters over the course of four seasons! This summer the fifth season will premiere, which will be the last season. I’ve heard that’s because the show will become too complicated if they continue.

  1. Gilmore Girls

When I saw the trailer for Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life on Netflix, I knew I had to watch it, but I needed to watch the original series first because I’d never seen it. So, in about four weeks I binge watched all seven seasons. I loved it! Mainly, because it isn’t as fast-paced as TV shows are today. You got to see the characters do normal things like eat breakfast or do homework for example, which you hardly even see on TV nowadays. And about the revival: I know it got a lot of critique, but I liked it. It gave the series the ending it never had.

  1. The Affair

Love, drama, family and murder. That’s what this series is about. Obviously, it’s about an affair and the effects it has on both their families. I love this show, because it’s about two people who have lost themselves because of the things they have had to deal with. But when they are together they can be themselves again. A cool element of the show is that one halve of every episode is from his perspective and the other halve is from her perspective. Also, they show scenes from the future, so you know someone will die, but you don’t know who the victim will be or the killer or what will happen.

That’s it for now. Honestly, I could go on for hours; there are so many good shows out there. Especially now with Netflix and HBO, we have access to some of the best TV ever made. I’m going to leave it here today, but perhaps I’ll discuss more series in the future.

Love!

Merel

6 thoughts on “My 4 Favorite TV Series

  1. My girlfriend and I started Orphan Black and got fairly far, it was interesting, but we ended up sidetracked by life/other shows. When I found out it goes up to Season 5 though, I wasn’t eager to pick it back up as I was unsure if it was a premise that could hold up over time, I was worried it was just being milked. I suppose, what I’m asking here, is does the plot stand up over the other seasons?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand! That happens with a lot of shows. There are definitely some unexpected twists later on in the show. Even though the events might be crazy, the emotions and actions that follow are real and I think that’s what keep the show somewhat grounded (I mean we are talking about clones ;)). Honestly, I think that if you understood the show when you first watched it, you’ll enjoy the other seasons too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

