My Favorite Recipe for Healthy Banana Bread

One of my favorite things to do in New York, was reading a book or magazine in Central Park on a sunny day. Often, I’d stop by Starbucks on the way to get a vanilla cold brew coffee and a slice of banana bread. When I took a bite of the banana bread from this recipe, it took me right back there; sipping my coffee in the shade of a tree on a hot summer day with Darling Magazine on my lap and feeling the grass against my bare legs and feet.

The taste of this banana bread takes me back to those carefree moments. I’m so happy to be able to make it at home, so I had to share it on My Blue Striped Life. This recipe is not only delicious, but also healthier than most banana bread recipes out there. Of course, you can tweak it to your taste; if your vegan, gluten-free or dairy-free, you can easily alter the recipe so it meets your dietary needs or requirements. Let’s get started.

The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 70 ml (extra virgin olive) oil
  • 125 ml agave syrup (honey or maple syrup will work too)
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 2 medium to large ripe bananas
  • 60 ml milk (or water)
  • 5 g baking soda
  • 5 g cinnamon
  • 8 ml vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • 425 g whole wheat flour
  • chopped walnuts (or pecans) (optional)

And now the recipe:

  1. Preheat your oven to 190 Celsius (375 Fahrenheit) and grease your loaf pan or line with baking paper.
  2. Whisk the oil and agave syrup together in a large bowl and beat in the eggs. Mash the bananas on a plate or in a bowl. Add the bananas and milk and mix well.
  3. Add the baking soda, cinnamon, vanilla extract and salt to the mixture. Stir in the whole wheat flour with a (wooden) spoon until everything is combined. Don’t over-mix the batter!
  4. Lastly gently mix in the walnuts or any other add-ins like raisins or chocolate chips.
  5. Pour your batter in the loaf pan and bake for 60 minutes.
  6. It’s okay if your toothpick isn’t completely clean after inserting it in the loaf to check if it’s done. Let the banana bread cool before trying to remove it from the pan.

There you have it; my favorite banana bread recipe. Now it’s ready to be enjoyed with a cup of (ice) coffee. MMmmm!!

Love!

Merel

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Recipe for Healthy Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

