A Few of My Favorite Things in My Apartment

Hello there,

A few weeks ago, I did a post about how I renovated the room I now call home. However, I didn’t show you how it turned out. So, that’s what I’m going to do today. I thought it’d be fun to do that by showing you my five favorite things in my new studio.

1 Cacti

I don’t have a green thumb at all. I always forget to water my plants. Because of that I can only keep plants alive for a few months tops. I bought these cacti a year and a half ago. They don’t need that much water, so they had a good chance at survival. Even though they’re low maintenance, I am proud all three of them are still alive.  And thus, they are my favorite thing in my room.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

2 Closet

I love this closet and not just because of its contents. In my parents’ house, I had a closet that perfectly fit into this nook in the corner. My parents bought it when we moving in when I was only a year old, so have had that closet as long as I can remember. It was really cool to pick out a new closet for my new apartment. I knew I wanted an open closet to create an open space. This is a system from IKEA that allows you to put together your closet the way you want. It was fun to design it exactly to my taste.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

3 Cook Books

Even though I don’t have that many cook books, I love the way they look in this crate that I got from IKEA a while ago. I love browsing through them, looking for inspiration on what to make for dinner. Because I only have to cook for one, I don’t like to be in the kitchen for hours and most of the meals in these books are quick, easy, healthy and most importantly delicious!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

4 Colored Bottles

These bottles are colored with nail polish. I made them a few years ago. I had this cute glass smoothie bottle that I didn’t want to throw out, so I decided to give it a fun color with nail polish. The experiment turned out so well that I repeated it with two other bottles I got shortly after that. It gives a fun pop of color to my apartment that I love!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

5 Preserving Jars

My parents have so many of these preserving jars in their kitchen; they have like ten shelves filled with them. I think it’s a cool way to display oats, pasta, rice and things like that. I love the way it looks, because it makes what’s in them look more interesting than it actually is.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

There are more things in my studio that I love, but these are my favorites. While writing this post, I realized that everything I mentioned, except the closet, is in my kitchen area. I hope that you now have a sense of the overall feel of my apartment.

Also, I updated the look of My Blue Striped Life a little this week. I didn’t make any major changes, so the site doesn’t look too different. I only uploaded a new header image, categorized all my posts better and changed the colors. Hopefully, you love the updated look as much as I do.

Love,

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

