My View on Today’s World

Hey everyone,

The past few days have been very interesting and I need to get my thoughts and feelings out. What people are capable of doing and what’s important to them blows my mind. You probably already know what’s happening in the United States. I’m going to talk about the executive order on travel and immigration and the order on abortion policy. I can’t and won’t keep quiet!

First of all, let’s talk about the travel ban issued last Friday. Right now, people from seven Muslim countries are not able to enter the United States for 90 days, all refugee admission is suspended for 120 days and there’s an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees. This means that, even though you might be a legal US resident, you are stopped at the airport, either in the departing country or the US. For example, if you went to a funeral or you went on a holiday, you won’t be allowed to re-enter the country you are living in.

You (and your family) have basically become homeless for three months – you need to figure out where you are going to stay and how you are going to provide for yourself (and your family). When you can’t show up for work for 90 days, you will most likely lose your job. Students can’t continue their studies. In some cases, parents are separated from their children. Do not forget the psychological impact of being denied access to your country of residence or fleeing your country because of violence and having to wait months to apply for the US Refugee Admissions Programme.

Secondly, the abortion policy makes me very angry. I consider myself to be a feminist. I want to be able to make my own choices about my body. It’s my body and my life and nobody should have anything to say about it except me! Choosing to get an abortion is not an easy decision, I imagine. Women who are not ready to be a mother, who are pregnant after being raped or women who are in a bad place in life (whatever situation they might be in, should be able to get an abortion. Instead of making it harder to stop a pregnancy, children should be educated about sex and contraceptives.

Also, can we take a minute to think about the image of president Trump signing the order in relation to abortion. A male president who is surrounded by a group of men, makes rules about the bodies and lives of women…. Nothing wrong with this picture, right?

I just need to say that right now ovaries are more controlled than guns, but that’s a topic for another time.

If you look at just these two orders mentioned above, you can only conclude that apparently the life of an unborn child is important, but not the life of a child fleeing a war. People, get your priorities straight!

There is so much more I could say about these topics, but for today I’m going to leave it at this. I feel like it is my duty to stand up for what I believe in and to share that. These are my believes and my values. This is not just any country or president we’re talking about, these actions will affect every single one of us. So it’s important to make ourselves heard!

Take care!

Merel

2 thoughts on “My View on Today’s World

  1. This was an incredible post! You spoke so knowledgeably – it was very easy to understand everything you were saying and you worded everything in a way that was just perfect, I completely agree with everything you’ve said and whilst I don’t live in America but in the UK I can tell you that he’s having an awful lot of impact over here as well, more than I would like him to have. I have been awfully surprised every single day since the inauguration at quite how far Donald Trump will go to destroy the lives of anyone who isn’t a rich, heterosexual, white man. It’s appalling and I can’t believe he’s still the president! I mean, it’s been just over a week and he’s already done all of these dreadful things. He doesn’t seek legal advice (or any advice for that matter) before making massive decisions, he just does what he likes. He has no respect for the people of America or for his colleagues, he just does what he wants and personally I think there needs to be some ground rules for being president and I think Donald Trump will have broken every single one of them already. Anyway, I’m going to stop ranting now. But you have reminded me that I was going to write a post on a similar topic! Really insightful post, keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Since I was in the States until just before the election, I got to speak to some of my American friends about the topic. That was really interesting. I think everyone was kind of hoping things wouldn’t be so bad after all. But they are. Trump has surrounded himself with people he can easily influence, like family members, and that’s terrifying. It’s unbelievable how many people voted for him. I could talk about this for hours, hahah. It’s important to voice our opinions and support the American people during this time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

