Exploring New York with My Mom

Hello everyone!

The past two weeks I have been kind of absent; I haven’t published a new post for a little while. My mom came to visit me in New York and we also went to Washington DC for a few days. It was so great to see her again and we had an amazing time together! In this post, I will tell you a little bit about all the things we did and saw while she was here. I will do a separate post on our time in DC next.

We got CityPASSes, which is a ticket that gives you access to six different attractions in the city. Three of those are so-called option tickets, which means you get access to one of two attractions. It saved us a lot of time and money, because we could skip most lines and saved 40 percent of the combined ticket prices. We could go to The Empire State Building Experience and Top of The Rock Observation Deck. We decided to go to the Empire State Building after sunset to see New York at night. All the lights were so beautiful. We went to the Top of The Rock an hour before sunset on the last day, so we got a gorgeous view of Central Park.

The 9/11 Memorial and Museum were the first things we visited. I had not been to the museum before. We were both impressed with everything we saw, but we left before we saw everything, because the energy was so loaded. We also got a ticket to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We only got to go to the Statue of Liberty though, because it was too late to visit Ellis Island too. It was interesting to visit the Memorial and Liberty Island on the same day because of the big contrast; the attack on September 11th 2001 tore the world part and changed it forever and Lady Liberty has given so many people hope and symbolizes a better future for many. I just thought that was interesting.

Of course, we had to visit a few museums while my mom was here. The ticket to The Metropolitan Museum of Art was included in the CityPASS, so we went there. There was also a ticket to the American Museum of Natural History, but we did not visit it, because we’d rather wanted to see the Museum of Modern Art (which was not included in the CityPASS). I am glad we did that, because the MoMA was great and I enjoyed it a lot more than I did the first time I was there. We also went to the Guggenheim Museum. We had to choose between the Top of The Rock Observation Deck and the Guggenheim Museum, so we had to buy tickets to the Guggenheim. They had a different collection on display than the last time I was there and it was amazing. We also visited The Museum of The City of New York, which I would recommend to everyone.

Besides visiting these attractions, we also did a lot of walking. We walked through Chelsea, Greenwich Village, SoHo and other neighborhoods on Manhattan. We also walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and cycled through Central Park, which was a lot of fun. I showed my mom a few of my favorite coffee shops and places to eat. I made her dinner twice and we had a real American breakfast at a diner.

It was so nice to spent time together and talk. We hadn’t seen each other for over three months. I got to see some things I had not visited before, so that was cool. She left yesterday afternoon, but next week I will see her and the rest of my family again when I return to The Netherlands.

Love!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

