The TOEFL Test

Hey guys!

So, if you have been reading my blog for a while, you’ll probably know that have been studying in New York to prepare for the TOEFL test. TOEFL stands for Test of English as a Foreign Language. I took the test last Friday and I will tell you all about my experience in today’s post.

Why Did I Take the TOEFL Test?

Some of you might know this already, but for those of you who don’t, I took the TOEFL test to improve my chances of getting into college. I am going to apply to Amsterdam University College (AUC) next month. Only 20 to 25 percent gets accepted and I want my chance of getting in to be as high as possible. Maybe you are wondering why I need to take an English exam to get into a university in the country where I have live my entire life. Well, AUC is an international school and all their lectures and everything are in English. My grade in English on my high school diploma is not high enough to meet their requirements, so they suggested that I could take the TOEFL test to prove that my level of English proficiency does meet their standards.

How Did I Prepare for the TOEFL Test?

The first four weeks at New York Language Center (NYLC) I took the TOEFL preparation class, but then we got a new teacher and I did not like her teaching style at all, so I changed classes. I switched to the speaking and listening class. The last week I was there I wanted to take the TOEFL prep class again, because a new session had started, but there were not enough people to fill the class, so took the vocabulary class like everyone else.

When I got back from Boston, I had two whole days to prepare for the test. I still had a barely used book from my classes at NYLC. The book has a website with practice test, so I did a few of those. I was most nervous about the speaking section of the test because it is an internet based test and that means you have to speak to a computer instead of a person. I could have spent more time on practicing with speaking to a computer, but I also know that I did my best to be as prepared as possible.

How Did the Test Go?

I took the TOEFL test on Friday October 14th 2016, which was also my sister’s 11th birthday. I was a little nervous before going in. I asked them to give me the spot in the corner to minimize distraction, because there were about 20 people taking the exam. The test started with the reading section and then the listening section. I am not sure how I did on those; either I did really well or not at all. After a short break, I had to do the speaking exercises, which went even worse than I expected. I feel like I really messed up that part of the test. Hopefully, the person who has to grade my performance will take into account that I had to speak to a computer, that I was nervous and that there were other people in the room who were also speaking aloud. Then came the writing questions, which went extremely well. I think I scored a lot of point there.

To get into AUC I need 100 out of 120 points. Hopefully, I did good enough to get at least a 100 points. If I don’t, I will not be too worried, because I can show AUC that I lived in New York City for four months, where I had to speak English every single day. Besides, I am working on improving my English and I show motivation. But I do hope I get a good score on my test. I will have the results in about 10 days.

Love!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

