A Weekend Away in Boston, Massachusetts Part 2

Hi guys!

I spend Columbus Day weekend in Boston, Massachusetts with friends. We did a lot of things and it was nice to be out of New York for a few days. Don’t get me wrong, I love New York, but the change of scenery was great. I published the first part of my trip on Wednesday. If you have not read it, you should click here. Today, I will tell you about all the others things we did.

Sunday October 9th 2016

It has been raining the entire day. We initially planned on going to a market, but because of the weather we decided to go to a museum instead. After picking up the daughter of the friends I am staying with, we went to the Harvard Museum of Natural History. It was a really cool museum, because they had an entire room full of flowers that were made of glass. They looked incredible! We also saw some animals and the skeletons of whales.

We were going to meet friend of them for dinner, but before that we stopped by their daughter’s office. Her office is super modern and it is probably the coolest office I have ever seen. There were a lot of colors and patterns, but it still looked professional. Then we went for dinner to The Friendly Toast, which is an American diner with a very retro look to it. It was really cool and the food was great. Their friends were so nice! He knew some words in Dutch. They were genuinely interested in everyone, including me. They wanted to know my plans for the future and how we knew each other. We had a great time!

After dinner, we went home and watched the second presidential debate. It was seriously terrifying to watch. He is disgusting. She has flaws too, but I don’t even want to think about him becoming president.

Monday October 10th 2016 Columbus Day

We went apple picking today, which was a lot of fun. I had never been apple picking before. We tasted a few different apples and we would pick the kinds we liked best. It was a beautiful day; it was cold, but the sun was shining and there were no clouds. It was perfect fall weather. They also had apple cider doughnuts and warm apple crisp. We bought a lot of doughnuts and tasted both the doughnuts and the apple crisp, they were delicious. I took two doughnuts with me back to New York and they were gone really quickly.

Then we went to the North End for coffee and cannoli (who knew that was plural for cannolo). The North End is the Italian neighborhood in Boston. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes; it’s really cool. The cannolo was really good. I had never had one before. Initially, we wanted to go to the Tea Party Museum, but by the time we would get there, their last tour was going to start and we were not sure there were still tickets available.

Before going to an Italian restaurant, we walked part of the Freedom Trail. We stopped by the Old North Church and Paul Revere’s house, both were very important leading up to the revolution. Their daughter met us for dinner and we had a great time. We talked about last night’s debate. It was interesting to see how native Americans responded to it and they wanted to know what I thought of it.

img_20161010_164847.jpg

Tuesday October 11th

Since we did not go to the Tea Party Museum yesterday, we went today. It was basically a huge play; it was amazing. I don’t really know anything about the revolution, so it was nice to learn a little bit about the history of America. After going to the museum, we got lunch in the Seaport district, which was close. Our table overlooked the harbor; it was really nice. It was great to be able to spend time with my dad’s friend and to talk with someone.

When we got back to their house, it was time for me to go. I had already packed my bags this morning, so I didn’t have to do that anymore. She filled a bag for me with food for on the road. I brought a lot of apples with me and some other things. Fortunately, we did not have to wait long for the bus to arrive. And then it was time to say goodbye.

2016-10-11-11.36.49-1.jpg.jpeg

I truly had an amazing time. The people I was staying with are great and I miss them already. It is nice to know that there will always be someone for me here. I don’t know when I will see them again, but someday I will and we will keep in touch.

Take care!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

