A Weekend Away in Boston, Massachusetts Part 1

Hey there!

It has been a while since my last post. I was in Boston the past few days. I stayed with friends who live just outside the city. We had a great time and it was a lot of fun to spend time with them. I am back in New York now and I am going to tell you all about my vacation. This post will be diary style, so you will be reading what I wrote in my diary.

Friday October 7th 2016

After packing the last of my thing this morning and I headed towards the bus stop. First, I stopped by the supermarket to get some fruit for on the road, because it is a four-and-a-half-hour bus ride. Then I went to Levain Bakery to get some cookies for the people I am staying with. I had never been there, but I hear their cookies are one of the best in New York. Those cookies were so much bigger than I expected them to be; they were cookie mountains. I got chocolate chip walnut and oatmeal raisin. Before going to the bus stop I also stopped by Krispy Kreme, because my classmates told me their doughnuts were the best, but I was not really impressed with them. I like the doughnuts from Dough Doughnuts so much better. It also took me a long time to find them, so that was kind of disappointing.

The bus ride took so much longer than it should have. It took over an hour longer to get to Newton, Massachusetts. My dad’s friend picked me up from the bus stop and it was great to see her again. The last time I saw her was four years ago and my English was not very good and I was shy. Now we are able to have conversations about all sorts of things. We went to Cape Cod, Massachusetts that same night. We were meeting some friends of her for dinner and we would stay with them for the night. They have a huge house on Cape Cod.

2016-10-12-01.39.10-1.jpg.jpeg

Saturday October 8th 2016

I slept in and we had a relaxing morning. We left the house in the early afternoon to go to a festival. A typical New England festival where you can pick your pumpkin from a pumpkin patch. I had never seen anything like it, so that was really cool. They also had delicious apple cider doughnuts. The festival was at an old farm and you could look around inside. It was quite old and everything was so tiny! They also had a petting zoo for kids. It was so cool to experience these typical American traditions.

Then we went to The Knob, which is a lookout point on a big pile of rocks in the ocean. There was a nice walk to it. The scenery here is so different from New York. Here, I can actually see the sky without having to look up! We stopped by a delicious French Bakery in Falmouth. We all got a little treat and a much needed cup of coffee.

It was time to go back to Boston after that, so we got our things and said goodbye. In the car we listened to music and talked about different things. It was really nice to have someone to talk to and to practice my English at the same time. We met her husband at a Mexican restaurant for dinner. We took some of the food home in a doggy bag, because it was too much; it is a typical American thing to do. At home we watched some TV and went to bed.

2016-10-08-05.44.55-1.jpg.jpeg

That is it for now. I was there for a few more days and I will tell you about it in my next post that will be up soon. It was great to be in a different environment and to spend some time with these people. They are amazing. I miss them already, but I made a promise to come back and see them again.

Love!

Merel

2 thoughts on “A Weekend Away in Boston, Massachusetts Part 1

Leave a Reply

