Packing for Boston

Hi there!

Thursday was my last day of school and I left for Boston the day after. I am spending a long weekend here, before my mom comes to visit next week. I am staying with a friend of my dad and I am only here for a few days, so I did not need to pack a lot. In today’s post I will tell you how I pack for a short trip like this. I brought a small suitcase that fits everything I need.

Clothes

Picking out what clothes to bring is the worst part of traveling in my opinion. I always want to pack way too much, because you never know exactly what the weather is going to be. I also tend to want to wear things I did not bring, so I just pack extra to prevent that. Anyway, the weather forecast said that it was going to be sunny, but cold. Perfect fall weather! I packed three sweaters; two thinker ones and one that is a little thinner. Then I put in two button-ups to layer under my sweater if it gets really cold or to wear on its own in case it is warmer than anticipated. I packed two pairs of jeans – one blue, one black – and of course socks and underwear. This is a city trip, so sneakers are a necessity; I brought two pairs. Lastly, I packed a leather jacket, a long coat and a warm scarf. So, I did not pack too much, but I am prepared for the unpredictable fall weather.

Makeup

Depending on where I am going and how long it is going to take to get to my destination, I will or will not wear makeup. If I am not going to wear makeup, I will pack it the night before I am traveling. If I do decide to put on some makeup, I will pack it while I put on my makeup. That way I will not forget anything and I do not pack more than I need. Often I will throw in one or two extra lip colors, but that is it.

Toiletries

Most of my toiletries I pack the night before, like shampoo, body lotion, hair ties and things like that. The rest I pack in the morning, because some things you still need to use, like toothpaste or deodorant. If I would go on a big trip, I will make sure I have everything I need, but when I am going on a shorter trip, I will leave some product home. For example, I can do a few days without a hair dryer and I can use my body lotion as hand cream.

That is how I packed my suitcase for my trip to Boston. Obviously packing is different every time you travel, but it is nice to have some kind of system. I like to pack my clothes first for example. I am a neat freak, so I need a strategy or otherwise I will go crazy. Anyway, I will be here until Tuesday and when I get back I will do a post on my trip, so you can look forward to that.

Take care!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

