Plans for October

Hi guys!

Time is flying by! It feels like yesterday that I first arrived in New York and at the same time it feels like ages ago. The reality is that I have only one more month in this city that has become my home. In exactly a month I will be back in The Netherlands, but before that I have a lot of exciting things going on. I will miss New York City, but for now I am going to make the most it.

Last Week of School

Next week is already my last week at New York Language Center. On the one hand I feel like I cannot learn that much more there and I do not mind that next week will be the last, but on the other hand I have met a lot of amazing people there who I am really going to miss. I will remember my classmates and teachers for the rest of my life. Hopefully, we are able to stay in touch with each other, but you never know how that is going to go. I am excited to see what everyone will be doing in the future. With the end of school only a few days away, everything really seems to come to an end. 

Boston

On Friday, I will go on a short trip to Boston where I will stay until Tuesday. My dad has friends there and I will be staying with them for a few days. I met them about four years ago, so they are not complete strangers. I have been in contact with them since I got to New York. They have friends and family living here whom I have met. They are very kind people and I am excited to spend a long weekend with them and explore Boston.

TOEFL Test

I came to New York to improve my English to increase my chances of getting into Amsterdam University College. To show them my improvements I need to take the TOEFL test, so that is what I am going to do when I get back from Boston. The test is on Friday October 14th, which is also my sister’s 11th birthday. So when I get back to the city, I have two whole days to study for the test. I should be fine. 

My Mom Comes to Visit

Then on the Sunday after the TOEFL test, my mom will come to New York City to visit me for ten days. I am really looking forward to seeing her again and spending time with her. I cannot wait to show her around the city and take her to all my favorite spots. It might be a little weird to spend ten days together after not seeing each other for over three months. But I am positive we are going to have a great time! It will also be a great chance for me to see all of New York again before I leave. 

Washington D.C.

While my mom is here, we are going to Washington D.C. for three days. We will leave on Friday and return on Sunday. My grandparents have friends living there and they invited us. They will show us the city and we will be staying with them. I have never met them, but I think my mom met them a long time ago. Anyway, I am looking forward to our little trip out of the city. I really want to see the White House and Capitol Hill. A friend of mine who I met in New York went to Washington D.C. about two months ago and she said it is nothing like New York, so I am excited to see it for myself.

Going Home

My flight home is on October 31st and I will be home November 1st. I really do not want to think about leaving. I know it is still far away, but I can feel it coming closer. After my mom leaves, I will have five days by myself in New York. I will have to pack, buy some presents, meet up with some friends for the last time and go to some of my favorite places for the last time.

I am really getting sad writing this, but I still have more than four weeks! And I am going to do so many fun things and I am visiting two other big cities. It is going to be the best month of my entire trip. Even though I wish I could stay, I really want to see my family and friends again.

Love!

Merel

Leave a Reply

