My Tattoo Experience

Hey guys!

So, I got inked this Tuesday. It was my very first tattoo and I am really happy with it. I have been wanting to get a tattoo for some time now and this seemed like the perfect moment. In this post I will tell you all about my tattoo experience; what getting inked was like, how I decided on what I wanted to get and what the tattoo means to me.

I have been thinking about getting a tattoo for a few years actually, but I was not sure what I wanted to get (and I was not old enough). So, I created a Pinterest board and a folder on my phone and every time I would come across a tattoo I liked, I would either save it on Pinterest or on my phone. I noticed that the tattoos I liked were small and meant something to me, so I went from there. Last year, I got a strong desire to see more of the world and I have always been very curious about different cultures. I knew then that I wanted something that represented that, like bird or a compass.

When I went to New York I thought it would be awesome to get a tattoo done here. Before I had made plans to come to New York, I felt really drawn to the word “wanderlust”, but I have not felt any connection to that word since I got here. Instead the word “explore” felt like a perfect description of what I was going through. For weeks I tried out different types of lettering, but nothing felt right. Until I came across the symbol for explore and I fell in love. I instantly knew that was what I was going to get inked on my body. I love that it is more interesting and mysterious than a word; people will have to ask you what it means. It is not obvious.

To me it symbolizes my ongoing journey to explore who I am and the world we all live in. In the future, it will represent who I am in this moment and what I am going through right now. It will also be a reminder to never stop exploring. I chose to get the symbol on the right side of my left wrist. To me that is the perfect place, because my tattoo is not hidden, but when I have my hands down or when I wear something long-sleeved, you will not be able to see it. I also really like how small it is, because it is looks very sophisticated, at least to me.

Before I going to get the actual tattoo done, I had drawn it on with a marker a few times to get an idea of what it would look like. When I knew what I wanted, I had to find the right tattoo artist to do it. Because it is such a tiny tattoo, I was not really worried about finding an artist with the right style, but more about finding a nice and comfortable tattoo shop to get my first ink done. I did a lot of research and I read a lot of comments on Yelp and Google Maps. In the end, I found the place where I got my tattoo done, when I went to SoHo to take pictures for my blog. I got a really good feeling about the place and when I looked them up I knew that was where I was going to get my first tattoo.

They have a lot of experience; one of their artist worked for Kat Von D and they have been on TV show a few years ago. It was an expensive place, but I am glad I went there, because they were very friendly, walked me through the entire process and informed me about aftercare. I always thought of tattoo shops as sketchy, but this place was really nice and calm. Getting my tattoo did not hurt nearly as bad as I thought it would. It kind of felt like a cat scratch or a paper cut. The most annoying thing was the sound of the machine they use. It was done really fast; it only took a few minutes to finish.

Now, the tattoo needs to heal and they told me that would take about three weeks. It still feels like it is drawn on with a marker and I can wipe it off any second, but I cannot. This tattoo is going to be on my body for the rest of my life and I am so happy with it. I am happy I finally did it and I am glad I spent the extra money, because it was a great experience.

Love!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

