Chelsea, Manhattan Part 2

Hey guys!

As you can see from the title, is this the second and last part of my guide of Chelsea, Manhattan. Yesterday, while I was writing part one, I realized how much there is to do and see in Chelsea. Putting all of that in one post would have made the post too long, so that is why I decided to split it up. If you would like to read the first part, click here. I wrote among other things about a cute coffee shop and one of New York’s best pizza places.

STORY

A block away from the pizza restaurant, you can find a store called STORY. STORY is not like any other shop I have ever been to. It is hard to describe the store, because it completely changes every four to eight weeks. I guess you could compare it to a magazine, but in the form of a store. Until September 18th they have a ’90s theme going on, which is this Sunday I realize, so if you want to check it out you have to go this weekend. They partnered up with Nickelodeon and brought back a few of their iconic cartoons. What the next theme is going to be, is a secret, so we will just have to wait and see.

20160914_134833.jpg

The Commons Chelsea

The Commons Chelsea is a small cafe located on the corner of 18th Street and 7th Avenue. You can go here for coffee, pastries and lunch. Someone recommended the Avocado Toast to me, but unfortunately they did not have avocados when I went there. I ordered the Hummus Toast instead, which was delicious, but I will go back for the Avocado Toast. They have a few seats inside and also a few outside, which is sometimes hard to find in New York. My friend and I sat outside and although it is a big noisy, we both agreed that it was fun to watch all the different people passing by.

20160913_150251.jpg

The Museum at FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology)

North of Chelsea is The Garment District, so it in only natural that there is a college to study fashion close by. The Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) is located in the northeast corner of Chelsea and they have a museum you can go to for free, called The Museum at FIT. Right now they have an exhibition on uniformity, where they show how certain uniforms have evolved over time and how today’s fashion designers are inspired by uniforms. If you are in the area, you should definitely stop by for a quick visit. You will not regret it.

20160914_143039.jpg

Books of Wonder

A children’s bookstore is probably not the first stop when you are in New York, but Books of Wonder is totally worth paying a visit. You do not necessarily need to go to buy books for kids or teens, but you should visit Books of Wonder to take a look at their collectible, old and rare books. They have the first United Stated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets signed by J.K. Rowling and the first edition of The Hunger Games, also signed. They have the entire set of first edition Winnie the Pooh books. It costs 8,500 dollars! So, just go to Books of Wonder to take a look of these amazing copies.

20160914_153540.jpg

Dough Doughnuts

The first time I tried a doughnut from Dough Doughnuts was at Smorgasburg (a weekly food festival) a few weeks ago. I looked up where their store is located in New York and Chelsea is the answer. Their doughnuts are the best I have ever tried. They are a bit bigger than other doughnuts and they are less dense. My absolute favorite is the Mocha-Almond Crunch; the glaze is made of chocolate and coffee and on top are pieces of almonds. I love chocolate, I love coffee and I love almonds, so this doughnut has my name written all over it.

20160914_152757.jpg

These are the other places you should absolutely visit in Chelsea. Chelsea can be a bit overwhelming, because it is such a busy neighborhood, so it is good to know which places are worth going to. In Chelsea you will feel like you are in a big city; there are yellow cabs, business men and women, tall buildings and sirens from police cars, ambulances and/or firetrucks. The places I have mentioned here are not very well-known by tourist, but totally worth it.

Love!

Merel

 

Leave a Reply

