Labor Day Weekend

Hello there!

It was Labor Day yesterday, so that meant there was no school and we had an extra day to the weekend. In the United Stated Labor Day is celebrated on the first Monday of September, on this day the accomplishments of the American workers is honored. I do not know a Dutch holiday you can compare it too, but that does not matter, because this post is going to be about what I did on this three-day-weekend.

September 3rd, 2016

Today I really took the time to relax. In the morning I did my laundry, which was very boring but it needed to be done. In the afternoon I Skyped with my brother. I was so good to see him and talk to him. We did not really talk about anything, just some random things, but it was nice to hear his voice and to see him.

After that I went to the supermarket to get some (unhealthy) food. Then I went to Starbucks for a Pumpkin Spice Latte, which was delicious and just what I needed. The rest of the afternoon I watched Netflix. It was so nice to just relax and to not have to think about anything.

I am planning on going to Bushwick, Brooklyn tomorrow. There are a really cool vintage store, a book store that sells used books and a coffee shop all pretty close to each other. I am going to hang out there tomorrow. In the afternoon I am going to call my grandparents. I am excited to speak to them and to hear their voices.

September 4th, 2016

Feeling a little better today. This afternoon I went to Bushwick, Brooklyn which was kind of a disappointment. It was cool to look around at the vintage shop, but they did not have anything ‘ wearable’. The coffee shop was a little sketchy, there were not a lot of people and the ones that were there were a kind of weird.  I did not feel comfortable. The book store was a success though. I bought The Great Gatsby, 1984 and The Catcher in the Ray. I have been wanting to read those books for a while. I read The Great Gatsby about 2.5 years ago, but I remember that I could not really focus on the book then. Now I want to read it again.

I decided to pay a visit to Williamsburg, Brooklyn before going home. I went to Madewell where I got the perfect pair of jeans, I have been looking for a pair like these for some time. I also got a sweater and a basic white T-shirt. It was not cheap, but the quality is really good, so I do not mind paying a little extra. Before going home I got an iced tea and took some pictures of this neighborhood.

When I got home I called my grandparents. It was so nice to talk to them and to hear their voices. It was the first time I called them since I am in New York. I will definitely calling them more often.

Tomorrow I am just going to a Starbucks on the Upper East Side to do some work. I have to send some emails, because I have not been able to do that because I have been sick. Again I am going to take it slow and try to relax as well.

September 5th, 2016

Today was Labor Day so there was no school. I took the time to relax and to recover from my cold. I went to Starbucks to do some work, like I planned on doing. Also I am obsessed with their Pumpkin Spice Latte. It is so comforting! While I was there I worked on my blog and on a blog post for My Trending Stories. They reached out to me, because they liked my writing and what I had to say. So That is really cool! I am proud of accomplishing something like this after I have only been blogging for a month and a half. I am really excited to see where this is going to take me!

That was my Labor Day weekend. I did not go out of the city like many New Yorkers do. A lot of them take a little vacations, go barbecuing or swimming, Labor Day marks the end of summer and the beginning of fall and new school year. Because I was not feeling too well I did not do any of those things. Besides, I really like being by myself as crazy as that might sound. I like to be by myself with my own thoughts sometimes and that it what I did this weekend.

Take care!

Merel

Leave a Reply

