Having a Bad Day

Hello everyone,

Everybody has a bad day every now and then. I am actually having a bad day today. Yesterday, I woke up with a sore throat and is has not really gotten better. This morning I was not feeling good at all, I just wanted to spend the day under the covers, but here I am writing a new blog post. I thought this would be a good opportunity to share with you what I do on bad days like these.

Acceptance

One of the most important things for me is not to fight it. It is okay to have bad day every once in a while. Sometimes I feel good enough to go to school and I know I will feel better once I am out of my room, start doing something and interact with other people. On other days that is too much. For example, today I am really tired and I do not feel like doing anything, so I decided to stay in bed a little longer and not go to school. I accepted that I am not able to go to school today and that I have to take care of myself first. If you try to fight what you are feeling, you will feel even worse in the end.

Get Ready

I know I will feel better if I take care of myself, so I always get ready in the morning. I am probably going to stay in bed for some time, but I will get out of bed and go through my morning routine. On days when I do not feel good, I want to be comfortable, which mean that I am not going to wear a new dress or try a new make-up product. Today I just put on a pair of jeans, a loose-fitting shirt and a pair of white Converse and I put on very little make-up. After I am done getting ready I feel a little better.

Breakfast

Eating breakfast is always important, but when you are having a bad day you might not feel like making breakfast. I know the feeling. Trying to keep things simple is the most important thing, so I just ate some yogurt with granola and a banana for breakfast today. Every morning I make a cup of tea, it makes me feel more alive and I am not fully awake until I have had my morning cup of tea. On a bad day I like to make a cup of chamomile tea, because it works relaxing, helps with colds and stomach-aches. So it is perfect for a day like this.

Get Out 

Staying in my room the entire day will make me feel even worse. I always try to get out of the apartment, even if it is just for an hour and a half. Instead of replying to email in your apartment, go to a coffee shop and work from there. Even if I just go to Central Park to read my favorite magazine or book for an hour, I will feel so much better. For instance, I went to a little cafe in Greenwich Village today to do some work there. Order a drink and something to eat and you can spend a few hours there. When you go out on a bad day, try to find a quite place with a relaxed atmosphere otherwise you are not able to relax.

These are some of the things that are important for me when I have a bad day. I try not to make things more complicated than they are. Life is just harder on some days and everybody has a bad day occasionally. That is okay! As long as you accept that it is part of life, we are going to be alright. Tomorrow is going to be a new day and things can look so much brighter.

Take care!

Merel

Leave a Reply

