A Day in My Life

Hi guys,

Whenever something big changes in your life, it will influence the course of your everyday life. Whether that is going to a different school or trying a new sport, your daily schedule is going to change in small or big ways. Obviously my life changed when I moved to New York and started studying here. One of the hardest things was creating structure or a daily routine. In this post, I am going to share with you what a typical day in my life looks like.

8:00 – During the week, I set my alarm at 8 and on the weekends I will only set my alarm when I have to be somewhere. Just like almost everyone else, the first thing I do is check my messages, Instagram and Snapchat. So usually it will take me about 10 to 15 minutes to actually get out of bed. I go to the bathroom, brush my teeth and wash my face and when I go back to my room, I finally open the curtains. After that I make breakfast, which is just some yogurt with granola and a cup of tea. While eating breakfast I watch an episode of something on Netflix.

9:00 – It is time to get ready for the day. I put some clothes on and do my hair and makeup. That takes about 20 minutes in total. Then I pack my bag. I like to prepare my lunch at home when I can, usually that is the same as last night’s dinner. I also bring some fruit, a granola bar and a bottle of water with me. When everything is packed, I am ready to go to school. It takes me around 20 minutes to get to school, that depends on the trains.

10:00 – Class is starting, but because of the trains I am not always on time. Sometimes I am 10 minutes early and other times I am 15 minutes late, but that is fine, because there are always people coming in later. I start with a 3-hour class and after that I have an other class that takes just an hour. There is a 30 minute break at 11:30, during which I go outside most of the time.

14:00 – I only have 4 hours of class everyday, so after school I like to go somewhere before going home. One of my favorite things to do in the afternoon is going to Central Park with a book or a magazine and read for 1.5 to 2 hours. Most of the time I will get a drink from Starbucks, my favorite right now is the Sweet Vanilla Cream Cold Brew. If I need to, I will buy some groceries at Trader Joe’s. I go there two or three times a week and I get almost everything there, because they have great prices and the quality is good too.

16:30 – After getting home, I call my parents. I like to tell them about what I have done that day and I want to know what they did, but most of all I love to hear their voices. It is also nice to hear my name, because people who do not speak Dutch are not able to say my name right. I am used to it know, but is still nice to hear someone say it right. Because it is too early for dinner when I get of the phone, I watch Netflix, look on Facebook or make plans for the next day.

18:15 – I know it is early to eat dinner for New Yorkers, but I like to eat between 6 and 7. I always prepare a meal myself when I am home, which is most days. I like to make an extra portion to have for lunch the next day. With my dinner, I drink another bottle of water. Just like with breakfast, I watch some Netflix while eating.

20:00 – Around this time, I am either taking a shower or working in my blog. If I work on my blog, which is three to four times a week, I will shower when I am done.

22:00 – I am getting ready to go to bed. I go to the bathroom, brush my teeth and wash my face. When I am done, I take some time to write in my journal. It is nice to reflect on what I did every day. Then I end the day the same way I started it, with checking Instagram and Snapchat.

23:00 – By this time, I am usually asleep.

Of course my days are never the same. I do not go to Central Park everyday, sometimes I hang out with friends after school or I go downtown to explore New York City. It makes me a lot more relaxed when I have a rough schedule of my day, because it gives me something to hold on to and at the same time I am flexible. I would rather spend my energy on the things I am doing than on when I am doing them.

Love!

Merel

Leave a Reply

