One Month Down

Hey guys!

Time is flying by! I have been living in New York City for a month now. The beginning was definitely not easy, but I am so glad I decided to do this. In this past month, I have probably felt every emotion there is. I have cried and I have laughed, but that is what makes this beautiful – at least in my eyes. So, in today’s post I am going to share some quotes from the diary I am keeping, that will hopefully show you all the different sides of my crazy adventure.

July 14th, 2016 – After I arrived yesterday and had settles in, I got really home sick. I realized how far away I actually am from my family!

July 15th, 2016 – The minute I walk out the door I feel great. At those moments I feel proud and brave for moving to New York, because I think “I am really doing this. I am really living in New York City!”

July 16th, 2016 – The things I miss most are talking to people and people making decisions for you. I never thought I would want someone else making decisions for me, but I find it really hard to structure my day.

July 17th, 2016 – During my lunch I contacted one of my best friends and it was really nice to hear from her. I also send a text to a friend of my dad who lives in Boston, and I got a really nice response back.

July 18th, 2016 – So today I finally went to school for the first time and it was great!

July 19th, 2016 – I did not call my parents this morning, which was weird, but it also felt good. I mean I have to get my own life here.

July 20th, 2016 – Today was awesome!

July 21st, 2016 – It feels good to have a well filled fridge.

July 22nd, 2016 – I feel like everything is really falling into place now.

July 23rd, 2016 – For the first time I felt like I could never live anywhere else. I feel at home in the city, like it is my home (and that of over 8 million other people). I am happy!

July 24th, 2016 – I forgot to write…

July 25th, 2016 – We are in a so-called “heat dome”. It feels like 42 degrees at the moment.

July 26th, 2016 – Tomorrow I am going to the Bronx Zoo with a friend from school, I am really excited, because I have heard a lot of great things about it.

July 27th, 2016 – I am exhausted, so I am going to bed now.

July 28th, 2016  – Time flies by. I have already been in New York for more than two weeks. I do not call my parents every morning and afternoon anymore and I do not cry every time I talk to them.

July 29th, 2016 – The Museum of Modern Art was amazing!

July 30th, 2016 – I am really excited to finally try a real New York bagel tomorrow.

July 31st, 2016 – It feels like yesterday that I was at home in the Netherlands and at the same time that feels like ages ago.

August 1st, 2016 – I am very tired. It seems like I am getting more tired every day. I am going to try to take thing slower and not to do anything too crazy this week.

August 2nd, 2016 – I am not sure what I am going to do tomorrow, but right now I am going to watch another episode of Gossip Girl.

August 3rd, 2016 – I bought some mini donuts from the Doughnuttery in Chelsea Market. The ones with lemon, vanilla and poppy seeds were better in my opinion than the ones with fall spices, pumpkin and Graham cracker crumbs.

August 4th, 2016 – I met a friend of a friend of my dad today and she is such a sweet and caring woman!

August 5th, 2016 – This afternoon I finally bought a pair of low-top white Converse Chuck Taylor All Star. I have been wanting a pair for so long.

August 6th, 2016 – I am just feeling really home sick again.

August 7th, 2016 – My laptop works again!

August 8th, 2016 – I forgot to write…

August 9th, 2016 – My mom texted me that she is going to visit me in the fall. I am really excited to show her the city!

Ups and downs are a part of life and I know now that I am going to be fine at the end. I have learned a lot about myself and I have grown up, but at the same time I know there are still so many things I do not know. I am excited to see what the rest of my stay in New York City is going to teach me about myself and about life. I am looking forward to the future, while I am enjoying being in the moment.

Take care!

Merel

Leave a Reply

