My Weekly Meal Plan

Hello everyone!

Living on my own is not always as fun as I thought it would be. One of the things I find the most difficult about living by myself is have to decide every single thing on your own, like when am I going to do laundry or what am I going to do this weekend. I found it especially hard to decide what I was going to have for dinner every day, until my mom suggested that I could make some sort of meal plan for every week. It has made my life so much easier, which is why I am sharing it with you today.

Monday

I like to start the week of with a big bowl of pasta. My favorite kind of pasta is fusilli. I just boil some pasta and add a spoon of pesto. It is really that easy. You can buy pesto at almost every grocery store and you have a quick, easy and delicious meal. To make it a little more healthy I prefer to add a diced tomato. I always make two portions of this and I put one of them in a container to eat for lunch the next day, so I do not have to think about what I am going to have for lunch the next day either.

wp-image-608816985jpg.jpeg

Tuesday

After eating so many carbs and very little vegetables, I want to eat something light and healthy on Tuesday, which is why a salad is on the menu. I add whatever is in my fridge, which usually is some cucumber, a bell pepper, a tomato, some olives and feta cheese. But I also like to add an egg, some mushrooms or an avocado when I have it. A very easy way to make a dressing is to mix a little honey, mustard and olive oil together, but I do not like to add too much, because I still want it to be a healthy meal. Again, I like to make extra to eat for lunch the following day.

20160802_184829

 

Wednesday

To celebrate to middle of a school week, I like to tread myself to pizza on Wednesday. Me and my family used to have a pizza day on Friday, because nobody wanted to cook that day, but I rather have pizza on Wednesday to give me energy for the last two days of the week. Also, there are so many good places that sell pizza in New York, to try them all I have to eat pizza at least once a week!

20160803_185431

Thursday

The first two weeks I have been in New York, I ate couscous on Thursday, but this week I met up with someone at 3pm and we had a very late lunch. I was not feeling like eating a big meal that evening, so I just toasted some bread and spread an avocado on it. This was a quick way to still have something for dinner and it was very good. I love avocado, you can wake me up for it in the middle of the night.

20160805_184907

 

Friday

Finally, it is the end of the week and time to relax. The meals I prepared did not have a lot of protein in them, so on Friday I like to end a school week with an omelette. In case you do not know, I do not eat meat and since I have moved to New York City I do not like to prepare a meal with fish either, I still eat fish when I am at a restaurant or diner. It is important for me to watch how much protein I eat. To make the omelette I let some spinach shrink in a pan and then add some tomato and bell pepper. Usually I mix three eggs together and pour that on top. After stirring, I add some mozzarella cheese, put a lid on and wait for it to be done.

20160805_184850

Saturday

My all time favorite meal is tortillas and on the weekend I have the time and energy to prepare them very delicious. In a bowl I mix together two avocados with some olive oil, a tomato, a bell pepper and cucumber. It does not have to be difficult. Then I heat two tortillas up in a pan until they are crisp. On a plate I put half of the avocado mixture on a tortilla and add some lettuce and/or mozzarella cheese and I am done.

20160806_185346

Sunday

This is the only day I have to decide what I am going to eat. Usually that is just what I have left in my fridge or some humus with vegetables and pita bread. On Sunday night I just want to relax and not make anything complicated for dinner and this is extremely quick to prepare.

20160807_183645

I have been following this meal plan for three weeks now and it has been a lifesaver. Having my meals all planned out saves me so much time and energy I would rather spend on other things. In the past month I have really learned to make my life as comfortable as possible and this is one of the thing I did to accomplish that.

See you around!

Merel

Leave a Reply

