42nd Street

Hi guys,

When you look online to see which places you must visit when you are in New York City, you usually find the Brooklyn Bridge, Museum of Modern Art, One World Trade Center, Times Square and some other spots. On one of my first days in the city, I already saw the One World Trade Center. Now I can check Times Square off that list too, because yesterday I went to there after school. In today’s post I am going to share what I thought of Times Square and what other places I visited near there. There are some big tourist attractions on 42nd Street, which is where Times Square is too.

Bryant Park

After school I took the subway to Times Square and right when I got of the subway I saw billboard everywhere. Because I had not eaten my lunch yet, I decided to go to Bryant Park to eat. The park is quite small, but there are a lot of chairs so everyone will have a place to sit. There are a few small restaurants where you can get food and beverages. During the summer there is the HBO Bryant Park Summer Film Festival, which means that they play an outdoor movie every Monday. I have not seen a movie there yet, but I heard it is really cool.

20160726_142445

New York Public Library

On the other side of Bryant Park, opposite Times Square, is the New York Public Library. Obviously I had to see the front of the building with the lion statues. The library looks very impressive with the statues guarding the entrance and the big pillars. I did not go inside, but you can if you want to. In the future I will go back to see the inside.

20160726_150024

Grand Central Terminal

From where I was standing I could see the Chrysler Building. It was only a few blocks away, so that was where I was headed next. On my way there I walked past Grand Central Terminal and I just had to go inside. When I walked in, I did not see the main area everybody knows from TV. But I found it and it looks exactly like in the movies. It was a little weird to stand in such a famous place, but I get that feeling a lot in New York City actually.

20160726_150943

Chrysler Building

When I saw the Chrysler Building I recognized it immediately. The arches at the top of the building are well-known across the world. It is one of the highest buildings in New York City and therefore always visible in photos of the New York skyline. At night the top lights up beautifully. I think this is one of the most beautiful buildings in New York City.

20160726_150205~2~2~2

Times Square

After seeing the Chrysler Building, I finally went back to Times Square. Even though I went during the day, it was still a very overwhelming place to be. There are more billboards, lights and people than I could ever imagine. The advertisements on most billboards are moving too. There is just so much to see, I could spent hours looking at all the advertisements, lights and colors. I really want to go back there when it is dark outside, because then it will be even more beautiful and impressive.

20160726_154245~2

That is everything I saw yesterday. The feeling I got when I was standing on Times Square is indescribable. I felt so small and at the same time I felt like I could take on the entire world. There is so much energy in a very compact place and I could feel that. With the other things I saw too, I got this overwhelming feeling from being in a place that almost everybody in the world knows. It gave me a lot of energy.

See you around!

Merel

Leave a Reply

